Hotspot: Hokkaido ‘All You Can Eat’ Sushi Ghent.

Searching for something to get my ecstatic about? Get me started on the heavenly gift that is sushi! I’m not talking about the ones with raw fish of course… I’m talking about all the plant based things that can make such great Japanese food you just wish you could eat it every day. Ahh sushi… See, I’m already starting to crave it again ๐Ÿ˜‰ In this third post, I would like to share with you my favourite place to go out for dinner of all times: Hokkaido. It’s an amazing ‘all you can eat’ sushi restaurant in Ghent, and they serve great vegan sushi options. The thing is, at Hokkaido’s, you can literally eat until you can’t move anymore. They will never let you leave with an unsatisfied stomach.

You should know that, until like two years and a half ago, I had never tried decent sushi.
I fell in love with it for the first time when one of my best friends gave a “sushi-dinner-party” for her birthday (which was pretty awesome by the way). When I first got together with my love, we were planning to go out and eat sushi together one time. When it finally came to it, we arrived at the certain sushi bar we were going to, and it turned out to be closed that day. Devastated, and craving for sushi, as we both were, we turned around to find Hokkaido’s hidden between a couple other restaurants just a few steps further.
Not knowing what to expect, we entered, lost our hearts over there, and have never gone to another place ever since.ย ย Last Tuesday, we thought it was time for a sushi date again, and that called for the perfect opportunity to share this amazing place with the world.

This is the deal: you enter Hokkaido’s and get greeted by the sweetest Japanese woman ever. She instantly shows you a table to sit and brings you something to drink. I care a lot about the attitude of people that work in a restaurant, and I can assure you, she makes you feel at home right away. The concept of Hokkaido’s is also very great. It’s not one of those ‘all you can eat’ restaurants where the food has been prepared already and you just have to take it from a buffet. Here, you get a list off all the things you can order and you get four rounds in which you can each time order as much as you want. Your food gets freshly prepared in the kitchen and it has never failed me yet.

In addition to that, a quite important aspect, compared to other sushi restaurants, it’s not that expensive at all! You pay 22,50 euros (your drinks exclusive) or 33 euros with drinks included. At standard sushi places, where you can’t eat as much as you want, you easily pay this price for a limited amount of sushi. This, in combination with the great quality, is probably the most important reason why we keep on going back ๐Ÿ˜‰

So, to conclude this all, if you ever find yourself in a serious crave for outstanding sushi, and you’re in the neighborhood of Ghent, don’t hesitate to go and check out this amazing place for yourself. You find Hokkaido’s at the Vrijdagsmarkt 33. You can check their website out over here, but I’m sure that in real life you’ll enjoy it even more ๐Ÿ˜‰

To get an idea of what vegan options they serve, you can check out my pictures beneath. Just know I didn’t get a picture of everything we had, so there’s more stuff to discover yourself. (Note: I’ve combined recent and older pictures, that’s why you might notice there’s sushi with egg in it, of course we didn’t have those anymore last time.)

Let me know, if ever you get to Ghent and try this place out, what you thought of it.
I’m sure there’s a big change it will steal your heart just like it did with ours.

Leave a Reply

