Lime pie with blueberries and raspberries.

It’s happened. I finally took some time to bake my first vegan pie! I must say, it didn’t go that smooth and the result was not really what I had imagined, but the taste was actually pretty good.

The recipe is based on one that I found in a vegan cook book I bought a while ago. The book is called “The vegan kitchen”, it’s a book from Love Food. In the original recipe they only used brown sugar in the stuffing and rye flour for the crust. Apart from adding some more lime juice and putting the berries on top, those are the only things that I’ve changed a bit.

The journey of baking my first pie started off rather bumpy once I realised that I didn’t own a rolling pin. I had to use the round handle of one of my spoons and my hands to get the crust a bit into shape. Luckily it worked out better than I expected. Second of all, I had never eaten a pie made with tofu before, so I had no idea what to expect. I found the texture of the stuffing a bit too grainy at first but after eating some more of it, it kind of grew on me and I didn’t mind so much anymore. I guess it’s just something you have to get used to.

Considering that it was my first attempt on baking a pie, I think I can say that I really like the result and am quite pleased with it. I’m really excited about trying out more recipes and hope to get better at it step by step, pie by pie 😉

If you like a fresh, zesty sweet treat or dessert and you like to be able to experiment with different toppings and stuff, then this recipe is certainly something you should try out yourself! Enjoy!

  • What do you need? (8 pieces)
    – 100g coconut oil
    – 270g spelt flour
    – 8 tablespoons of cold water
    – 570g tofu
    – Juice of 2 limes
    – 100g cane sugar & 75g brown sugar
    – 1 tablespoon of cornflower (or sauce binder)
    – 2 teaspoons of lime zest
    – Blueberries and raspberries
  • How do you make it?
    – For the crust: Heat the oven at 200 degrees (Celsius). Knead the coconut oil with your fingers through the flour and add the water bit by bit until it forms a cohesive dough. Roll the dough out with a rolling pin on a table or countertop after having strewn a bit of flour on it. When it’s ready, put it in a cake pan (25 cm diameter). Bake the crust for about 12 to 15 minutes in the oven until it’s turned golden-brown and crunchy. Put it aside and let it cool down.


– For the stuffing: Put all the ingredients for the stuffing in a bowl or foodprocessor, except for the lime zest. Mix it until it becomes a smooth substance (see 3rd picture). Add the lime zest and stir it through. When the crust has cooled down, use a spatula to put the stuffing in it and make a smooth surface. Put the pie in the fridge for at least one hour before you serve it.  Don’t forget to finish off with the berries. You can also use coconut, chocolate, slices of lime and much more to put on top of it. Let your creativity flow!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

