Spiced-up pumpkin soup with red bell pepper and alphabet pasta.

If there is one thing that I could literally eat every day, all seasons through, it’s soup! Ahh, I am so in love with soup! One of the things that I love most about it is the fact that you can make endless variations without it getting boring. From a simple tomato soup to a fancy soup for the holidays and everything in between… It never fails to make me happy 😉

Today I’m sharing with you my recipe for a kind of Indian / Moroccan spiced up pumpkin soup. It was a combination that just popped up in my mind earlier this week, and it turned out to be very tasteful! For this recipe I’m wandering back to the good old days when I was a little child and my mum used to put alphabet pasta in the soup. I was always so fond of it! I got a wave of nostalgia when it caught my eye in the supermarket last week, and I thought: why not be that kid all over again? If you’ve never had alphabet letters, or other pasta, in your soup, you must definitely try it one time 🙂 It also makes the soup a bit “heavier”, so you can easily have it as a fulfilling lunch soup or even as a quick dinner.

Something else I need to mention is the type of bouillon I used this time. About two weeks ago I found out that they sell vegan “chicken” bouillon at a supermarket close to where I live. I was like “what?”, so I went to check it out. I don’t really know why they call it chicken bouillon, I guess they maybe just used some herbs in it that come close to the taste of chicken bouillon? Apart from that, it’s just a really nice bouillon and it gave the soup just that little extra. The bouillon is from BioToday, so if you ever find that one, I would suggest to try it out yourself! (You can find a picture below)

Now that is all said and done, there’s only one more important thing to say: let’s cook some great pumpkin soup together!


  • What do you need?
    – 1 onion
    – 1 medium size pumpkin (or 500g frozen pumpkin cubes)
    – 1/2 red bell pepper
    – 3 to 4 tablespoons of vegan bouillon
    – 1l to 1,5l water
    – Alphabet pasta
    – Garlic powder
    – Cumin
    – Curry
    – Salt and pepper
    – Croutons
  • How do you make it?
    Cut the onion and bell pepper into pieces and the pumpkin into cubes. Bake the onion in a big casserole for about two minutes, then add the pumpkin cubes, a bit of garlic powder and a couple teaspoons of cumin and one to two tablespoons of curry. (I must admit I never use spoons to add my herbs, I just throw them in until I feel like it’s enough. I suggest you start with two teaspoons of cumin and one tablespoon of curry and then taste if it’s enough to your liking.) Add the boiling water and bouillon. Let it boil for twenty minutes. When it’s ready, mix until all the pieces are gone. Taste and add some more spices if necessary.
    Now, put the casserole back on the stove and add the bell pepper cubes. Let the soup simmer for ten minutes to make the bell pepper turn soft. Add the alphabet pasta and let cook through for another four minutes (don’t forget to stir often!). Serve with some croutons and enjoy this lovely, heartwarming, spiced-up pumpkin soup!Note: if you find the soup too thick when you take it out of the fridge the next day, just add some water, stir it through and then reheat. Pumpkin soup tends to get thicker over night, and the pasta in it makes that even more likely.  Just add some salt and pepper and you’re good to go again 😉 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Yum, thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I’m glad you like it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

