Spicy winter cupcakes with orange zest. 

Spicy spicy! Everything I do and make this week is spicy 😉 As I agree with what the official writer of this recipe says: there’s nothing better than the smell of cinnamon and “speculoos” in the house! That’s why, to stay in these -rather rainy- winter days a little longer, I decided to bake some spicy cupcakes this week. And they’re so good!

These cupcakes are based on a cake recipe from the Dutch vegan queens De Groene Meisjes (“The Green Girls”). I’m in a struggle again, as I’ve mentioned in another recipe already that I still don’t know how to properly translate “speculoos” in English. I think for now I’ll call it gingerbread cupcakes, but I’m not sure if that’s even right. I must also mention that, therefore, it’s a bit complicated for me to explain which spices I used, as I bought a “speculoos mix”. I can tell you that it contains: cinnamon, coriander seeds, nutmeg, anise, ginger, cardamom and sugar. (Note to my non-Belgian and non-Dutch readers: if you can find something similar like this in your country, please let me know, so I can have a better idea of what I have to call it in English 😉 )

So, are you in a mood for baking delicious cupcakes? Then let’s get in the kitchen and give these a try! Golden hint: make yourself some hot chocolate, put on a good movie, snuggle up on the couch and enjoy these lovely spicy treats!


  • What do you need? (about 9 cupcakes)
    – 120ml almond milk
    – 1 tablespoon of apple vinegar
    – 150g (spelt)flour
    – 1 tablespoon of baking powder
    – 75g cane sugar
    – 1 tablespoon of “speculoos” spices
    – 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
    – 2 tablespoons of applesauce
    – 2 tablespoons of oil (I used sunflower oil)
    – 1 orange (juice and zest + 3 slices orange to decorate)
    – Optional: almond flakes

 

  • How do you make it?
    Heat the oven at 160 degrees (Celsius). Mix the apple vinegar with the almond milk and let it rest for a while. Mix the flour with the baking powder. Add the sugar, spices and orange zest, and mix it all through. Add the oil, applesauce and orange juice to the milk-vinegar mix and stir through. Add the liquid mix to the dry ingredients.
    Mix everything with a spatula or wooden spoon.
    Put paper cups in a cupcake pan and add one ladle of dough to each paper cup.
    Put a piece of orange on each cupcake.
    Put the cupcakes in the oven for 15 minutes. Turn up the heat of the oven to 180 degrees and bake them through for another 30 to 45 minutes. (Watch out after 30 minutes, make sure they don’t burn.)
    Sit back and enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

