Chocolate mousse with red fruits.

Today I’m sharing a recipe with you guys that I had been planning to make for a while now. I keep a list on my phone with all the things that I want to make or try out, and this one has been on top for a couple weeks already, so it was finally time for the big moment. I remember that, the day before we went vegan, we stuffed ourselves with chocolate mousse until we couldn’t breathe anymore 😛 We were convinced that we could never eat chocolate mousse again… But then, of course, once we went vegan, we discovered the magical thing that is aquafaba. And we saw it was good…

For those who don’t remember; aquafaba is the very fancy name for the liquid of chickpeas and beans in general. It’s something that you usually throw away, but with which you can actually make very great things, using it as a substitute for egg whites. So far I had only used aquafaba to make this great vegan mayonnaise (which is currently the second most popular post on my blog, check it out over here). But you can do so much more with it! When I saw this recipe on Tasty (Facebook page you can check out over here), I knew this was going to be one of the most magical things I’d ever made in these three three months and two weeks of being vegan… And I was right 😉

What I must say about this chocolate mousse is that it’s extremely light and fluffy. I’ve eaten a lot of chocolate mousse in my life already, and I often found certain kinds way too heavy (especially homemade ones). This mousse is anything but heavy, instead I even found it a little bit too light at a certain point, feeling like I could eat ten bowls of it. You will also see that my mousse is a bit chocolate sprinkled, which was caused  by the fact that I had some issues with my mixer, and so when I finally came to the part of adding the chocolate, it had already cooled down too much, which caused my mousse to have little pieces of chocolate in it. In fact this was quite a nice effect, but still, next time I’ll be making sure this won’t happen again.

The great thing about this mousse is that you can actually make it with only two ingredients. In the original recipe they add some sugar and vanilla extract, but if the chocolate you use is quite sweet, you won’t even need the sugar, and the vanilla extract is also just optional. To conclude: it’s the most easy thing to make a delicious vegan chocolate mousse, which makes the vegan life (again) even more fantastic!

I thought it was finally time to fill the line, which my blog is all about, in for the first time myself: Once you go vegan… aquafaba will become your best friend!

Enjoy this heavenly, guilty-free treat and be amazed yourself 🙂


 

  • What do you need? (For 3 servings)
    – Liquid from 1 can of chickpeas
    – 1/2 cup melted dark chocolate
    – Optional: 2 tablespoons of sugar
    – Optional: 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
    – A couple raspberries, strawberries and mint leaves

 

  • How do you make it?
    Add the aquafaba to a bowl and whisk (with a mixer, on the highest speed) until it becomes a white foam (just as with egg white, you need to be able to turn the bowl upside down without anything happening). Add the melted chocolate and carefully stir through with a spatula until all the white colour has disappeared.
    Optional: add a bit of sugar and vanilla extract and carefully stir through again. Divide the mousse over three cups and put them in the fridge for at least three hours. Add some red fruits and mint leaves just before serving. Sit back and be amazed by this light and fluffy dessert!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    So delicious 😍

    Like

  2. jyo says:

    This is awesome👌

    Like

Leave a Reply

