Asian inspired: color-filled spring rolls with peanut dip.

I was feeling a little Asian inspired this week, and that’s why I decided to make some great Asian inspired food! I started off with these delicious spring rolls, followed by very tasty stir fried noodles (which you can check out over here). I had never made spring rolls before, so it was quite an adventure and I was stressing out because I was scared to completely ruin it 😛 But luckily everything turned out very well, and I’ll certainly be making these again very soon!

What’s so much fun about spring rolls is the fact that you can fill them up with whatever you’re in the mood for. I decided to go for some sweet touches, using sweet paprika and mango, which made a very nice combination with the cucumber and spring onions. To finish it off, I added some shredded mint leaves, which gave a very nice fresh touch to it. Of course, spring rolls are just boring spring rolls without a great dipping sauce. Because it was the first time I tried this out, I decided to play it safe and go for a sauce from the Minimalistic Baker’s blog, where I originally also found my inspiration for the spring rolls (you can check their recipe out over here). I’ve been screaming for 19 years that I hate peanut sauce… But damn, this one was really good 😉

Just like the first time I made sushi, I had to figure out a way to make nice and tight spring rolls. At first it was a bit clumsy work, but once I was halfway through, it was actually working out pretty well. Some advice I want to give if it’s your first time making spring rolls as well: don’t let the rice paper soak for too long. In the beginning I thought that the instructed 20 seconds was not enough, as the paper was still too hard in my opinion, but fact is that it still continues softening while you’re putting your fillings on it. 20 seconds really is the perfect timing, so certainly don’t hesitate about that. Also, make sure the water you’re using for the soaking is not too hot as well. Taking these two things in mind, you’ll be able to make the perfect spring rolls for sure 😉

If you want to combine my two Asian inspired creations, you can also add some noodles to the stuffing of the spring rolls, so you have two in one 🙂 I’m definitely trying that out next time!

Only one thing left to say then: enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!


 

  • What do you need? (for 2 people – 8 spring rolls)
    – 8 rice papers
    – 1 sweet paprika
    – 1/2 cucumber
    – 1/2 mango
    – 1 to 2 spring onions
    – 8 (big) mint leaves
    – 3 tablespoons peanut butter
    – 1 and 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce
    – 2 tablespoons cane sugar or agave/ahorn syrup
    – Juice of 1/2 lime
    – 1/2 teaspoon grated ginger
    – Hot water (to thin the dipping sauce)

 

  • How do you make it?
    – For the peanut sauce: Add the peanut butter, soy sauce, lime juice, sugar and ginger to a bowl and whisk until it becomes a smooth paste. Add one tablespoon of hot water and whisk again to make it thinner. Keep adding spoons of hot water until you’ve gained a good dipping sauce (not too thick and not too thin).

    – For the spring rolls: Soak a rice paper in some warm water for about 20 seconds. Spread it out on a plate or wooden surface. Put your stuffing in the middle of the paper (see picture). Fold the upper and down sides of the paper over de stuffing towards the middle. Fold the left side of the paper over the stuffing. Start rolling the spring roll up to the right. Make sure it’s closed tightly. Put the spring roll on another plate and cover up with a damp towel. Repeat the process 8 times.


    – Serve the spring rolls with the peanut sauce. Careful: don’t make these too much in advance (read as: not the night before or a lot of hours before) because the acidity of the mango will “eat” through the rice paper. Enjoy this lovely appetizer!

 

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

