Simple Baking: apple cake (with apricot jam and Biscoff crunch topping).

Being vegan doesn’t have to mean difficult recipes and hours in the kitchen. On this blog, it’s one of my goals to make clear that vegan cooking can be just as easy and delicious as what you used to do before! But to be honest, I think that sometimes certain recipes that are supposed to be easy and quick, still ask for too many ingredients and way too many steps to get things done, especially when it comes to vegan baking. That’s why I decided to make a subcategory on my blog: simple baking. Whenever you see this in the title, you’ll be sure to know that this recipe really is super easy πŸ™‚ In that way I want to make sure that literally everyone can enjoy the vegan kitchen. You don’t have to be a cooking princess or prince at all to make these delicious sweet treats! Or you can see it as a very nice opportunity to do some vegan baking with your kids! πŸ™‚

Because my boyfriend has been begging and nagging for quite a while now that I make him a cake, I decided to start this category off with a simple yet delicious apple cake. I must admit that, although I’m focussing on the fact that this is so simple, I was quite nervous about making this cake, because apart from cupcakes and banana bread, I had not made cake yet since we went vegan. I decided to just go with my instincts, gather some basic ingredients, and just try out what I thought was right.

There’s nothing wrong with just a basic apple cake, but even simple things can have just that little more extra, so that’s why I added a sweet and crunchy topping with apricot jam and Biscoff crunch. Of course this is optional, so if you don’t like the sound of that or if you don’t want things to get too messy, you can just leave that behind πŸ™‚ But I must say it’s a very nice addition to the cake, so I’d suggest you just give it a try!

I would really like to know if you guys like this new subcategory and think it’s useful. Definitely don’t hesitate to leave me a comment with your opinions or let me know if you enjoyed the cake when you made it yourself πŸ™‚ If you’re active on Instagram, you can always tag me (@onceyougovegan) in your pictures to show me your result! Certainly don’t hesitate to let me know what changes I could make to the recipe to make it better, it was my first try-out so I’m aware of the fact that it’s not fully on point yet. I’m always open for advice πŸ™‚

Have a nice time with this first simple baking recipe, and as always: Enjoy!


  • What do you need?
    – 250g flour
    – 100g (cane) sugar
    – 250g dairy-free butter
    – 3 tablespoons applesauce
    – 2 tablespoons plant based milk
    – 2 teaspoons baking powder
    – 1 apple (cut into thin wedges)
    – 3 spoons apricot jam
    – 5 Biscoff cookies (for my Dutch readers: Lotus speculoos)
  • How do you make it?
    Preheat the oven at 200 degrees (Celsius). Melt the butter. Mix the flour with the sugar and baking powder. Add the butter and stir through with a spatula until you get a good dough. Add the milk and applesauce and stir through again. Put some baking paper in a cake mold and put half of the dough in it. Divide half of the apple pieces over the dough. Put the rest of the dough in the mold and finish off with the Β rest of the apple pieces.

    Put the cake in the oven for 40 to 60 minutes. Once the cake is ready, let it cool down. Spread the apricot jam out over the cake. Crush the Biscoff cookies and sprinkle the crunch over the apricot jam. Enjoy this sweet treat!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Shirley says:

    Ziet er lekker uit!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

