Easy homemade pesto (+ quick pasta pesto).

You know what I really like? A good and simple pasta pesto for dinner. And what do you need for that? A great pesto of course! So that’s what I’ll be sharing with you guys today 🙂

When I was still a vegetarian, I was kind of addicted to pasta pesto and I was also hooked on Italian sandwiches with mozzarella, tomatoes, rocket salad and pesto. Going vegan, I discovered there are great mozzarella substitutes. I also discovered some vegan pestos in the local organic stores and vegan shops, but to be honest I found them quite expensive. That’s when it struck to me that I could easily make some vegan pesto myself! 🙂 The fun thing about it is that it’s so easy and so damn delicious!

So are you craving some delicious Italian stuff for lunch or dinner as well? With this easy homemade pesto, you’ll have a delicious sauce to touch up your food in no time! For those who like, I’ll also add a quick recipe for pasta pesto, so you can enjoy this pesto to the fullest!

As you’ll see in the ingredients list, I’ve used some nutritional yeast as a replacer for parmesan cheese. Fact is that you can also easily make this pesto without the nutritional yeast, but it just adds a little more cheese flavor.

Have fun making this great classic Italian sauce, and certainly don’t hesitate to let me know which combinations you used it for! Enjoy!


  • What do you need? (for a small jar of pesto)
    – 2 handfuls of basil leaves (actually you can add as much as you want)
    – 2 cloves of garlic
    – 50g pinenuts
    – 1/2 lemon, juiced
    – 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
    – 4 tablespoons olive oil
    – Salt and pepper
  • How do you make it?
    Chop the garlic in a few pieces. Put all the ingredients in a blender and mix until you’ve gained a smooth texture. Taste and add some more basil, olive oil, lemon juice or salt and pepper to your taste. Ready it is!


You can store the pesto in a jar for quite a while, because of course there’s no dairy in it! 🙂 From now on I’ll always make my pesto myself 😉

  • A quick meal: pasta pesto (for 2 people)
    Ingredients: half a pack of penne, two “branches” cherry tomatoes, 200g shiitake mushrooms, some pine nuts, a few basil leaves, pesto (of course)- Putting it together: Preheat the oven at 200 degrees (Celsius). Cook the pasta in salted water. Put the tomatoes (still on the branch) in an oven dish and drizzle with olive oil. Put the tomatoes in the oven for about 7 to 10 minutes. Bake the shiitakes in a pan. Stir the pesto through the pasta once it’s ready. Put the pasta on a plate, add some mushrooms, pine nuts and a branch of tomatoes on top. Finish off with some fresh basil leaves. Enjoy this delicious pasta!
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

