Green coconut and chickpea curry.

A while ago I was home alone with my dad on a Saturday night and I decided to cook him a nice curry dish. We both liked it so much that yesterday I decided to make one again, for me and my boyfriend this time (because of course he was sad he missed out on it last time 😉 )

The nice thing about curries is that you can variate a lot with it when it comes to the vegetables you put in it. I decided to go for eggplant, yellow carrots, chickpeas, broccoli and cherry tomatoes. I’m sure this combination would also be lovely with cauliflower, or with zucchini for example. A curry dish is so easy to make and with some rice or couscous on the side, you have put a very delicious and fulfilling meal on the table!

When you make a curry dish, you can choose between using red curry paste or green curry paste. In my experience, red curry is more spicy than the green one, so for those who like it very hot, I suggest you go with the red one 😉 I, on the other hand, like to keep things a little more subtile in my plate, so that’s why I chose the green one.

Herbs that work great with a curry dish are, for example, turmeric (to give it a more yellow colour) and cilantro. I must admit that I really don’t like cilantro, to be more specific I literally get the chills of it when I only even think about the taste (it’s one of the exceptional things that I really don’t like!). Therefore I decided to use basil to top it off, and this also worked perfectly fine.

Last but not least, I used basmati rice because I really like this type of rice. It’s a white, long grain rice which has a specific taste that brings a nice addition to your curry dish. Of course you can use any type of rice you like, and also couscous, quinoa or other things in this range work out fine with this nice curry.

Long story short, this is a very nice dish to cook for your family and friends. I’m sure your non-vegan family and friends, for example, will also enjoy this dish very much! Now that is all said and done, let’s get in the kitchen and do some nice cooking! Enjoy!


 

  • What do you need? (2 people)
    – 1 onion
    – 3 (yellow) carrots
    – 1 to 2 eggplants
    – Florets of 1 broccoli
    – 1 can of chickpeas
    – A couple of cherry tomatoes
    – A few basil leaves
    – 4 teaspoons of green curry paste
    – 2 teaspoons of turmeric
    – 2 teaspoons of curry powder
    – 1 can of coconut milk (fairtrade)
    – Salt and pepper
    – 170g basmati rice

 

  • How do you make it?
    Chop the onion. Cut the eggplant into cubes, the carrots into cubes or bars, the broccoli into small florets and the cherry tomatoes in half. Drain the chickpeas and rinse with cold water. Precook the broccoli florets for just a few minutes. Prepare the basmati rice following the instructions on the package. Heat some olive in a big casserole and bake the onion with the carrots for about two minutes. Add the eggplant cubes and bake for another two minutes. Add the chickpeas and the broccoli. Add the coconut milk and stir through. Add the curry paste and stir through again until you’ve gained a nice curry sauce. Add the turmeric, curry powder, salt and pepper. Let it simmer for a bit.
    If the coconut milk doesn’t thicken enough, you can add some cornflower (dissolved in cold water). Add some cherry tomatoes and take the casserole off the stove. Serve in a bowl with the basmati rice and some fresh cherry tomatoes and basil leaves.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ayam Jago says:

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the most useful blogs on the net. I most certainly will recommend this blog!

    Like

    1. You have no idea how much that means to me! Thank you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

