5x Hurraw! lip balms.

The time has come again to show you guys some of my vegan cosmetics. Today it’s all about lip balms! And even more specifically: the amazing vegan lip balms from Hurraw!

I’ve been using lip balms for years on end, because lipstick never suited me (until I discovered lipstick from Lush, but more about that in another blog post soon). I’ve used all different kinds of brands and flavors, sparkling and non-sparkling, more remarkable and subtile. When I went vegan, I noticed that I had never really thought about what I was actually putting on my lips. It struck me that almost all lip balms are made from beeswax, it honestly saddened me. That’s why, a while ago, when my last non-vegan lip balm was almost finished, I started searching on the internet for vegan lip balms. And I came across this fabulous brand called Hurraw!

Hurraw! Balms are made in the USA, and the idea for making them started out of pure intent: the obsession for making the perfect vegan and organic lip balm. I really like the philosophy of the brand, stating: “Let’s put the concept ahead of the profit, the user ahead of the maker, the collective ahead of the individual.”

Hurraw! Balms come in all kind of flavors, which means that literally everyone can find something they like. They even have chocolate, coffee, licorice and root beer flavors! (I’m honestly not kidding!) Even for those who like the very basic stuff, they have an unscented one.

I had to put a limit on my order (because I would’ve been able to buy them all, I’m horrible at choosing) and therefore limited down my choices to a top five. I’m very happy with the choices I made, but of course sooner or later I want to try them all out! I guess there’s still plenty of time left to do that πŸ˜‰

I will now describe each lip balm that I’ve bought and tell you what I most like about it. You can read more about the brand and all the colours and flavors these balms come in on their website, over here. I’m sure you won’t be able to resist to buy some yourself πŸ˜‰


  • Vata & Kapha balm
    For starters, I chose two balms from the Dosha line. The Dosha line exists of three balms, which are inspired on Ayuverdic Dosha principles. Each principle stands for a nature element, and corresponds with certain emotions and commands.
    Vata” stands for the elements “wind and space”. For this balm they used an infusion of soothing almond, spicy cardamom and rose oil. Though the smell and taste had to grow on me a bit at first, I started to really like this combination after using it a couple times.
    Kapha“, on the other hand, stands for the elements “water and earth”. This balm was made with zesty grapefruit, eucalyptus and ginger. This combination causes to give your lips a fresh but also a bit warm feeling. I really like this balm, it’s currently one of my favorites.Β The last balm of this line is called “Pitta” and stands for the elements “earth and water”. It’s made with coconut, lemongrass and peppermint. I’m very curious to try that one out next time!

18493498_10207074838949792_396841814_o

 

 

 

  • Tinted cinnamon balm
    Meet my new addiction: the cinnamon lip balm. As you guys might know by now, cinnamon is one of my favorite spices of all times. Therefore, of course, I didn’t hesitate a single second about buying this one! What’s also nice about this balm is that it’s tinted. I first expected that it would give your lips a red colour, but actually it just turns out to give a nice natural pink colour to your lips, which I like very much (see picture). The cinnamon also gives a warm and tingling feeling to your lips when you first apply it, especially on colder days that is very nice!
    For some reason I cannot seem to find this balm on the official website anymore. I really hope they haven’t stopped producing it… Maybe it’s a limited edition during the autumn and winter season? I’m not sure. I’ve bought mine on a Dutch website, so if you really want this one I think you’ll still be able to find it until they run out of these. Let’s just hope Hurraw! will put these back on their website very soon, ’cause I’m so glad I’ve found this cinnamon friend, I don’t think I could miss it again πŸ˜‰

     

  • Almond balm
    From the Classic line, I chose this simple yet great almond lip balm. I actually bought this one for my boyfriend, but eventually we started sharing it πŸ˜‰ This one is a very creamy and nutritional balm, which feels great when your lips are damaged or very sensitive. On days you don’t want too much glam or special flavors, this one is your guy! As the description on the Hurraw! website says already: it’s like walking into an Italian shop filled with biscotti cookies πŸ™‚

18516825_10207074843069895_1995154768_o

 

  • Moon balm
    Last but not least, I ordered the moon balm from the Essential line, for during the night. My boyfriend and I both have sensitive lips that chap easily, so some extra care during the night is always welcome. I must say that this balm is my second ultimate favorite of the five balms I got to try out. It’s enriched with blue camomile and vanilla, and a variety of oils (avocado, rosehip, meadow foam seed and argan oil). It’s a very creamy, thick and rich balm that takes care of your lips like a baby. I must admit that sometimes I just apply this one during the day because I like it so much! πŸ™‚ The scent is just heavenly…

18519332_10207074843229899_828074706_o

So have you not found a vegan lip balm yet that you like? Or do you want to try out something new? Then get on the internet and start searching for your perfect Hurraw!-match. With over twenty flavors to choose from, I’m sure you will find the balm that screams “you” all over the place! πŸ˜‰

Feel free to let me know which vegan lip balms you like the most. I’m very curious to find out what more I am missing out on πŸ˜‰ I currently don’t think it can get any better than this, so take it as a challenge to convince me otherwise… And for those who just started discovering these amazing lip balms just like me: Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

