Quiche with broccoli and tofu bacon.

The end is near, my exams are almost done! That means that, soon, I’ll finally be able to get back in the kitchen, be creative and share recipes with you guys more frequently again all summer long!

Luckily, this week I found some time for something very exciting: I made my first vegan quiche! I must admit, when we were vegetarians, we were absolute quiche lovers. It’s one of my favorite things to make, and when we went vegan I kind of thought I would never be able to make it again. But then I found out that there are some awesome egg replacers that you can also use in a quiche. I’ve been looking forward to trying that out ever since, and this week the moment had finally arrived! And ohhh it was goooood!

Let’s talk egg replacers first: I used one from the brand “Terra Vegane”. They have a couple egg replacers, such as for baking, sauces and egg-free omelet. I used the one for the egg-free omelet in my quiche, and it worked out very well! You just need to mix a couple of spoons of the powder with a couple of spoons of water, and then you get this yellow mixture that smells just like boiled egg yolks (very freaky actually 😉 ). I added some cream to the mixture, poured it over the vegetables, and it work out perfectly! You can check it out in the pictures below. More about the omelet adventure very soon! 🙂

 

 

The fun part with quiches is that you can fill them up with any vegetables you like. As I wanted to do something special, add a little extra, I decided to put some tofu bacon in it. Yes guys, newsflash, I’ve only recently fell in love with tofu, very fast and very hard 😉 You see, I just never really liked tofu, but when I found out what amazing things you can do with it… Ohh damn it’s the best stuff ever! I was a bacon addict when I still ate meat (shame shame) and though I haven’t found a very good substitute for that yet, this tofu bacon certainly satisfies my needs 😉 Because I used plain tofu, I had to add a lot of herbs and soy sauce to make it gain a salty taste. A little trick I used is adding some chicken seasoning. Relax, this actually has nothing to do with chicken, it’s just a mix of herbs that for some reason they called chicken seasoning and used it to only season chicken, but you can actually use it for anything you want 🙂

I think that was all I had to tell you about this very delicious quiche… So, what do you think? Shall we get in the kitchen and prepare this little piece of goodness?


 

  • What do you need? (1 big quiche)
    – 1 roll of vegan puff pastry
    – 1 block of tofu
    – 1 broccoli (not too big)
    – 150 to 200g mushrooms
    – 6 spoons of Terra Vegane egg-free omelet mix
    – 6 spoons of water
    – 3/4 bottle of plant based cooking cream
    – Vegan grated cheese
    – Salt & pepper
    – Optional: chicken seasoning mix
    – Soy sauce
    – A cake pan (regular size)

 

  • How do you make it?
    Cut the broccoli into florets and boil for about 5 minutes in salted water (they need to be soft but not too soft). Drain in a strainer and let the florets cool down in the stainer while you prepare the rest of the stuffing. Cut the mushrooms into slices or parts. Take the tofu out of the fridge and drain the liquid. Take a plate, put some kitchen paper on it, put the tofu on it, put another piece of paper on top and place a heavy object on it so most of the liquid gets pressed out. Cut the tofu into cubes and bake in a pan until they’ve turned crunchy on the outside. Add some salt, pepper, optionally some chicken seasoning and finish of with soy sauce (as much as you want).
    Take the puff pastry out of the fridge and let it adjust to room temperature for a couple minutes. In the mean time your can make the egg-mix by mixing the powder with water. Whisk until all the powder has dissolved. Add the cream and some salt and pepper, and mix again.Preheat the oven at 200 degrees (Celsius). Take the cake pan, roll out the puff pastry and put it in the cake pan just like you do when you’re making a “normal pie”. Puncture the bottom of the dough a couple times with a fork.

    Add the broccoli, mushrooms and tofu bacon. Poor the “egg”-cream mixture over it and finish off with some grated cheese.


    Bake the quiche for about 35 to 40 minutes at 200 degrees. Be baffled and enjoy!To hot for warm food? You can easily let the quiche cool down for a while before you eat it. It will still be as delicious, that’s for sure 😉
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

