Simple Baking: Raspberry cake with coconut whipped cream topping.

My exams are finally over, and that calls for some real comfort food! (I’m currently stress-eating, because I still have to wait one week for my results πŸ˜‰ ) Searching for a great summer recipe for your birthday, for when you have visitors over, to celebrate something or just to stuff yourself with? Then this one is your match! And as you see it’s my second “Simple Baking” recipe, which means that literally anyone can make it πŸ˜‰

I’m still working out what the perfect ingredients and measurements are for cake. Last time I replaced eggs with apple sauce. This time I decided to go for an egg-substitute from Terra Vegane, the egg-free Golden Exx. (Same drill as with the egg-free omelet mix I used in my previous post, check it out over here.) It worked out very fine! Of course this is not a product that everyone has in their cupboards, but you can also easily use something else instead (applesauce, aquafaba, flax egg,…). If you’re not sure on what to use, then feel free to contact me about it! πŸ™‚

19531681_10207364769357871_919421749_o

 

It’s also the first time that I made coconut whipped cream (I was very excited about this). It’s so easy, I don’t get why I had never tried it out before! A little something that you have to know is that you need to refrigerate the cream for one night, so that the creamy part gets thicker, otherwise you won’t be able to whip it. So just put the can in the fridge, then the next day when you’re going to make the whipped cream, just spoon out the thick white part. You can use the “water” leftovers in a smoothie or in a curry dish, etc. So you certainly don’t have to throw anything away! πŸ™‚

I used frozen raspberries in this cake, but of course you can also use fresh ones. If you decide to use frozen ones just like me, there’s no need to defrost them. You can basically add as much raspberries as you want (’cause honestly, there can never we too many raspberries right? πŸ˜‰ )

Well I think that was all I had to say for now. So, are you ready to make this delicious sweet treat? I’m sure your family and friends will be lining up outside your door for a taste once the smell of this freshly baked cake will enter their nostrils. But I won’t blame you at all if you want to keep this one all for yourself πŸ˜‰ Β Enjoy!


 

  • What do you need?
    – 250g flour (any type you prefer)
    – 200g plant based butter
    – 100g cane sugar
    – 4 teaspoons Golden Exx mixed with 80ml water
    – 50ml plant based milk
    – 2 teaspoons baking powder
    – 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    – (Frozen) raspberries
    – 1 can of coconut cream (refrigerated)
    – Coconut flakes

 

  • How do you make it?
    Preheat the oven at 160 degrees (Celsius). Mix the flour with the sugar in a bowl. Add the egg-free mixture and the butter and mix with a hand mixer until you’ve gained a dough. Add the plant based milk (if your dough is still too dry, which was in my case). Add the baking powder and vanilla extract and mix through for just a couple seconds. Add the (frozen) raspberries and stir through with a spatula. Put the dough in a cake springform and bake in the oven for at least an hour. (In my case my cake was still a bit too doughy, but I have a very tiny oven so maybe that’s why it just needed a little more than in a regular oven.) Let the cake cool down.

    Spoon the thick coconut cream out of the can and put it in a bowl. Add a little bit of cane sugar and mix with a hand mixer until you’ve gained a good whipped cream. Spread it out over the cake (when it has fully cooled down) and finish off with coconut flakes and a couple of raspberries. (Excuse my very non-symmetric posing of the raspberries, it’s terrible, I know, but let’s just say it’s as imperfect as I am πŸ˜‰ )


    If you don’t finish the cake all at once, then don’t forget to put it in the fridge, because otherwise the whipped cream will start to “melt” πŸ™‚ Store it in a box or under a glass bell so the cake won’t dry out. The coconut cream will become more like a frosting when the cake has been in the fridge over night, but it will still be as tasty, that’s for sure!

    I’ve gotten hungry while writing this post, so I’m gonna get myself some of this cake πŸ˜‰ I hope you enjoy it as much as I do! If you’d like more of these simple baking recipes then certainly let me know! You can also tag me on Instagram (@onceyougovegan) to share your result with me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

