Vegetable-packed dinner soup.

Here’s a next new thing you should know about me: I’m a real soup addict! I could literally eat soup every single day, winter or summer, day or night, hot or cold. I’ve been fond of soup for my whole life already, you can always make me happy with it πŸ˜‰

What’s so fun about soup is that, of course, you can make tons of variations. I’ve eaten and made a lot of soup in my life already, but I had never made a dinner soup before. This week we decided to do a low budget week, and therefore this dinner soup was perfect. You can just throw in all your leftovers, and it will still turn out to be delicious anyway πŸ˜‰ I decided to start with a basic vegetable mix and added pasta and potatoes (to make it more filling) and beans and chickpeas (for those beloved plant based proteins).

I also experimented with smoked paprika powder for the first time, which gave a very nice smoked touch to the soup. I added tomato paste, because I just love tomato soup, but of course that is not really necessary. If you’re not so fond of tomato, you can just follow the recipe, leave the tomato paste out, and you’ll get a nice vegetable broth. As I’ve mentioned before, I used a basic vegetable soup mix (see picture below). I buy this a lot, because it’s easy and quick, but of course you can also use fresh vegetables. The mixture I always use contains green beans, cauliflower, celery, peas, carrots, etc. But basically you can just throw in any kind of vegetables you like πŸ™‚

19807240_10207433707321277_1230799465_o

I was very pleased with the result of this soup, and with my low budget week in general. I’m very curious about what you guys put in a soup, what you like and find filling enough for dinner. Also, if you guys would be interested in more recipes for a low budget week, then certainly let me know and I’ll make it a new topic on my blog!

Of course you can also have this soup for lunch, it’s perfect to take with you to work, easy to make a big pot of and put some in your freezer so you have more for those days you don’t have time or you’re not in the mood to cook. And I bet your non-vegan family or friends will like it too!

Enjoy cooking this soup and feel free to share your result with me on Instagram by tagging me in your picture (@onceyougovegan). I’m curious if you guys are also such big soup lovers as I am πŸ˜‰


 

  • What do you need? (1 big pot, about 6 serves)
    – About 2l water (you can also make it 3l if your pot is big enough)
    – Vegan bouillon (2 cubes or a couple spoons)
    – 500g of mixed vegetables
    – 3 (small) potatoes
    – 100g of pasta (any kind you like)
    – 1 small can of tomato paste (about 140g)
    – 1/2 to 1 can of chickpeas
    – 1/2 to 1 can of beans (any kind you like)
    – 1 to 2 teaspoons of smoked paprika powder (depending on how intense you want the taste to be)
    – 2 teaspoons of curry powder
    – Salt and pepper

 

  • How do you make it?
    Cut the potatoes into cubes. Bring the water to a boil and add the vegetable mix, potatoes and bouillon. Let it cook for about 10 minutes. Add the pasta and let it boil for another 10 minutes. Add the tomato paste, chickpeas and beans, and let cook through for just a couple more minutes. Finish off with the spices. Serve with some bread if you like.


    If you put the soup in the fridge, you might notice the next day that it has become thicker. Just add some water, some more spices if you find that necessary, and you’re good to go again πŸ™‚

    It’s as easy as it can be! Enjoy πŸ™‚

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Madeleine says:

    This looks so easy and yummy. I’ve been wondering about using smoked paprika as well.
    A budget-friendly mushroom soup would be great!

    Like

    1. I have a great recipe for mushroom soup! I’ll post it in the upcoming weeks! I’ll let you know ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

