Hotspots: Great food in Amsterdam.

Earlier this week I made a nice citytrip with my mom to Amsterdam! Of course I did my research first, and so I had planned our trip all around trying out great (new) vegan hotspots! Sadly enough the weather and some unexpected closing dates ruined some of my plans a bit, but in the end we had a very nice two days. If you’re ever planning to go to the beautiful city that is Amsterdam, be sure to check out these places described below! And I can assure you; even your omni friends and family will enjoy them very much.


 

Lunch, Day 1: The Avocado Show Β 

So we arrived in Amsterdam and my first goal was to have an awesome lunch at The Avocado show, an avocado restaurant that opened its doors in March and has been packed with people ever since! When we arrived there was already a line waiting outside. The first thing I thought was “damn, we’re never gonna get in”. But guess what? They actually have a great, smooth moving system. You just have to put your name on the list and eventually we only had to wait for about 25 minutes to get in. And oh it was worth it! My mom had “The Super Salad” (vegetarian) and I had “The PokΓ© Bowl” (in a vegan version). My dish was absolutely great, it kind of made me feel like eating one giant sushi without the nori around it, and as you should know by now, anything close to sushi instantly makes me happy πŸ˜‰ Sadly enough my mum didn’t enjoy her salad that much, it turned out to be packed with cilantro and (like mother, like daughter) she doesn’t like that at all. One thing she keeps in mind for next time: always double check on cilantro! And what do I keep in mind? Order two of those PokΓ© Bowls, because it was finished way too quickly πŸ˜‰

You can read all you need to know about the restaurant over here.

Address: DaniΓ«l Stalpertstraat, 61 (Neighbourhood: De Pijp)

 

Dinner, Day 1: Spirit

So after filling our stomachs with avocado goodness, we strolled around the city in the afternoon. The weather was great, we shopped in a lot of nice stores, enjoyed the holiday vibe and got to see quite a lot of the beautiful city. In the evening we headed over to Spirit, an all vegetarian buffet restaurant which offers a lot of vegan options. I had certain expectations, but never could I have dreamed of what actually awaited us inside. I must admit, as you can see in the pictures, I went totally loose (and I still wasn’t able to try everything). The concept: you take a plate and choose whatever you want to eat out of over 50 dishes. Then they weigh your plate at the counter and you pay a certain price according to the weight of your plate. I honestly felt like a little kid in a giant play store πŸ˜‰ If it were up to me, I would go back to Amsterdam right now to try out all the other dishes that didn’t fit on my plate anymore! For dessert they also served some great pies. My mum had a blueberry – orange cheesecake, and I had a lemon pie with merengue on top. Both were vegan, but the lemon pie was definitely my favourite! I swear, if you ever find yourself in Amsterdam (or Rotterdam, as they also have a restaurant over there) head over to Spirit and stuff yourself with all their heavenly food! They also offer breakfast and lunch, and they do catering as well. I’m honestly too excited about having discovered this place, I’m really hoping they will open one in Belgium too πŸ˜‰

More about this great place over here.

Address: Czaar Peterstraat 2A

 

 

Breakfast, Day 2: Our hotel

As we stayed two days in Amsterdam, we spend the night at Boutique Hotel View. The first thing that caught my eye while checking in was the fact that they serve vegan breakfast on request. It turned out the daughter from the lady who owned the hotel is vegan herself, and she did a lot of effort to make us something nice for breakfast. We got some delicious sandwich spreads, plant based milk and vegan cheese, and she even got in the kitchen to bake us a pancake with lemon-creamcheese stuffing (which was very tasty!). If it was up to them, they would’ve baked another 20 as long as we didn’t leave the table hungry πŸ˜‰ I really appreciated this! So if you’re ever looking for a small and cute hotel to spend your night in Amsterdam, this one will make sure you’ll start your day strong!

Check the hotel out over here.

Address: Leidsekade 77

 

Drinks, Day 2: Caffe Esprit

Sadly enough our plans for day two literally got washed down the drain by non stop rain. We were planning to make a boat trip and stroll through the park, but the weather didn’t really allow us to do that. Instead we did some more shopping and ended up in a really cute caffe while trying to find a place to hide from the horrible rain. Funny enough, the caffe turned out to be serving vegan food and cheese cakes! As I was still full from breakfast, I didn’t get to try out any food there, but it all looked really nice. Instead we had some gin&tonic’s to warm us up inside πŸ˜‰ And we definitely enjoyed the nice environment.

More about the Esprit Caffe over here.

Address: Spui 10

 

Lunch, Day 2: Exki (Central Station)

Eventually we ended up back at the train station much earlier than planned and grabbed a quick lunch at Exki. I already knew this place, as they’re also located in Antwerp and Ghent. They don’t serve as many vegan options as I thought they would (by now) but if you’re in a hurry or you’re stuck at the train station for a while, then it’s certainly a nice place to spend some time.

 

What we missed out on:

My original plan for lunch on the second day was actually the fully vegan pizzeria Mastino V (that recently opened the doors to its second location). When we arrived at the place, it turned out they’re only open three days in a week, and I wasn’t lucky to be there on the right day. I felt really gutted about that, because I had been looking forward to their pizzas for quite a while. I’m certainly planning to go there next time! So a little important hint for you if you’re planning to go there: check on which days they’re open πŸ˜‰

We were also planning to go try out the Van Leeuwen ice-cream that recently came all the way from New York to Amsterdam. Sadly enough, because of the weather, we cancelled on that plan too. (Can you feel my sadness? Because it’s still real!) But then again; that’s another reason to go back very soon!

 

When I go back:

So as I’ve mentioned above already, when I go back to Amsterdam I’m definitely going to have pizza at Mastino’s and ice-cream at Van Leeuwen. Another hotspot you should definitely check out is The Vegan Junkfood Bar! They recently opened as well and their food just looks incredible. And then last of all, the Dutch Weed Joint has also opened its doors right now. Okay, don’t think I’m trying to make you get high or something πŸ˜‰ This is just an incredibly delicious hamburger spot and they make their burgers with seaweed πŸ˜‰


 

You getting hungry already? Amsterdam is a beautiful city with a lot of vegan hotspots and tons of vegan friendly places! Apart from the places I’ve described right now, there are still a lot of other restaurants waiting for you to be discovered. Don’t hesitate to share your experiences with me πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to discover even more of the great Dutch vegan goodness!

Going to Amsterdam soon? Let me know which places you tried out and feel free to share what you thought of them! And most importantly: Enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Net terug van Amsterdam! Het is idd zo een fantastische plaats voor vegan eten, heb er ook enorm van genoten πŸ™‚ Kan zelf ook niet wachten om de vegan junkfood bar uit te testen!
    https://letyourhairdownsofie.blogspot.be

    Like

    1. Echt he! Ja die ziet er zo goed uit πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Nienke says:

    Ook net terug van Amsterdam ! Vegan junk food bar was zo geweldig dat ik er twee keer ging. Spirit ook favoriet, Rotterdam heeft er trouwens ook eentje πŸ˜‰ Mastino V heb ik ook gemist, was dicht. Ook SLA en poke perfect zijn aanraders! Van leeuwen was ok maar viel qua keuze een beetje tegen πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Ik heb mijn mama gespaard van de junkfood bar omdat zij dat niet zo super vindt, maar volgende keer als ik met mijn vriend ga is dat sowieso het eerste waar we naartoe gaan! πŸ˜€ Ik had idd gelezen dat er in Rotterdam ook een Spirit is, ik hoop dat er ooit in BelgiΓ« ook 1 komt πŸ˜‰ SLA wou ik eerst naartoe gaan maar dit werd mij afgeraden door sommigen, omdat het “niet zo speciaal was” vergeleken met andere zaken… Volgende keer ga ik er toch eens naartoe gaan dan πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

